Who won the prestigious Fields Medal in 2014?

Who won the prestigious Fields Medal in 2014?

Maryam Mirzakhani
Maryam Mirzakhani is awarded the Fields Medal for her outstanding contributions to the dynamics and geometry of Riemann surfaces and their moduli spaces.

Who Won Fields Medal 2020?

“Laurent Lafforgue has been awarded the Fields Medal for his proof of the Langlands correspondence for the full linear groups GLr (r≥1) over function fields of positive characteristic.”

Why did Gandhi never get the Nobel Peace Prize?

Gandhi was nominated for Nobel Peace Prize in 1937, 1938, 1939, and 1947. Gandhi Ji became a strong choice for this prize only after India got independence. That’s the reason that the Norwegian Nobel Committee decided not to give Nobel Peace Prize to anyone in 1948.

READ:   How to tell if your friends are fake?

Who is Jacob Lurie?

Jacob Alexander Lurie (born December 7, 1977) is an American mathematician who is a professor at the Institute for Advanced Study. Lurie is a 2014 MacArthur Fellow.

What is the contribution of Louis Lurie?

Lurie was one of the inaugural winners of the Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics in 2014, “for his work on the foundations of higher category theory and derived algebraic geometry; for the classification of fully extended topological quantum field theories; and for providing a moduli-theoretic interpretation of elliptic cohomology.”.

Who is Larry Lurie?

Lurie is a 2014 MacArthur Fellow . When he was a student in the Science, Mathematics, and Computer Science Magnet Program at Montgomery Blair High School, Lurie took part in the International Mathematical Olympiad, where he won a gold medal with a perfect score in 1994.

What is Lurie’s work on elliptic cohomology?

The latter area is the topic of Lurie’s work on elliptic cohomology. Infinity categories (in the form of Joyal’s quasi-categories) are a convenient framework to do homotopy theory in abstract settings. They are the main topic of his book Higher Topos Theory .