Which country is Ethiopia located in?

Which country is Ethiopia located in?


Ethiopia, officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, is a landlocked country in the Horn of Africa. It shares borders with Eritrea and Djibouti to the north, Somaliland to the northeast, Somalia to the east, Kenya to the south, South Sudan to the west and Sudan to the northwest.

What race are Ethiopian?

Ethiopia’s population is highly diverse, containing over 80 different ethnic groups. Most people in Ethiopia speak Afro-Asiatic languages, mainly of the Cushitic and Semitic branches. Oromo, Somali, Tigrayans and Amharas make up three-quarters of the population.

Does Ethiopia speak English?

Ethiopia’s 78.25 million residents collectively speak up to 90 languages, and English is only spoken by 0.22\% of them (171,712 people). Top spoken languages are Afro-Asiatic languages like Oromo (33.8\% of the population), Amharis (29.3\%), Somali (6.25\%), Tigrinya (5.86\%) and Sidamo (4.04\%).

READ:   Could zeppelins be shot down?

What religion is Ethiopia?

Ethiopian Orthodox Church
More than two-fifths of Ethiopians follow the teachings of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church. An additional one-fifth adhere to other Christian faiths, the vast majority of which are Protestant.

Do they speak English in Ethiopia?

Can you drink alcohol in Ethiopia?

Country insight: Pre-COVID-19. Responsible alcohol consumption is socially acceptable in Ethiopia, although drinking alcohol remains more acceptable for men than women, with older consumers particularly likely to view female drinking in a negative manner.

What language is spoken in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia/Official languages
Under the constitution, all Ethiopian languages enjoy official state recognition. However, Amharic is the “working language” of the federal government; together with Oromo, it is one of the two most widely spoken languages in the country.

Is Ethiopia a landlocked country?

Ethiopia is a landlocked sovereign country located in the Horn of Africa. Ethiopia is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Sudan to the west, South Sudan to the south-west, Kenya to the south, Somalia to the east and Djibouti to the north-east.

READ:   Can you test negative for allergies and still have them?

Which countries border Ethiopia?

– Ethiopia. Ethiopia is located to the north of Kenya. – Uganda. Kenya is bordered by Uganda to the west. – Tanzania. To the south, Kenya is bordered by Tanzania. – Somalia. Somalia borders Kenya to the east. – South Sudan. Kenya is bordered by South Sudan to the north.

What are facts about Ethiopia?

Interesting & Fun Facts About Ethiopia. The country of Ethiopia is located west of Somalia, in Eastern Africa . The country, in size, is almost twice as big as the state of Texas. Ethiopia experiences a tropical weather, with changes in weather depending on the topography of a particular location in the country.

What is the current population in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia Population (LIVE) retrieving data… The current population of Ethiopia is 108,368,903 as of Friday, November 2, 2018, based on the latest United Nations estimates. Ethiopia population is equivalent to 1.41\% of the total world population.